Josh Macksoni

Josh Macksoni

  1. NAME OF CANDIDATE
    Josh Macksoni

  2. AGE
    23

  3. PARISH WHERE RESIDENT AT PRESENT
    St Martin

  4. OCCUPATION
    Student

  5. EMAIL ADDRESS
    jmacksoni97@gmail.com

  6. MANIFESTO WEBSITE
    https://joshmacksoni2020.wordpress.com

  7. Have you previously been a member of the States and, if so, between which dates?
    No, I am a first time candidate.

  8. Have you ever served on any States’ committees and, if so, which ones and when?
    N/A

  9. Have you ever served as a parish constable, douzenier or procureur of the poor and, if so, between which dates and which parish?
    No.

  10. What education, training, qualifications (whether professional or vocational) and experience do you have which would be advantageous in being one of the 38 Deputies representing the people of Guernsey?
    BA Creative Writing from Arts University Bournemouth Founding member of Guerns Against Discrimination

  11. What is your present occupation and what other positions have you held in the past ten years either as employee or employer (in the case of present or former States’ members please include outside work done (if any) whilst serving as a member)?
    As a student I have held positions as a student ambassador, a partner at Waitrose, a labourer and have received several writing commissions

  12. Do you intend to carry on working besides fulfilling your duties as a States’ member if elected?
    No, I regard being a Deputy as a full-time occupation.

  13. Indicate how your qualifications and experience of life generally will bring value to the work of the States in the discharge of all its many functions, governmental, legislative and administrative. Indicate, if you wish, two particular committees where you feel you can make a contribution and which skills and attributes you have which would fit you for such roles.
    I feel that my recent experience of studying at university has provided me with many skills which will serve me well in the role of Deputy. I am able to read technical material and consider it analytically which will stand me in good stead when reading policy letters and researching key issues. I enjoy debate and am able to think on my feet which will be valuable in the chamber.

    Having cofounded the Guerns Against Discrimination group has helped me to develop attentive skills in understanding the needs of the community and appreciating a variety of views and opinions. My own life experience has allowed me to understand what it means to be a marginalised member of our society and aware of realities of our social fabric.

  14. Give details of any team or project activity in which you have engaged within the last five years where you feel you have contributed to benefitting your employment or community: (a) in your work (b) in your voluntary charitable, sporting or social life.
    In the last five years I have been a member of a variety of teams, from founding and taking a lead role in Guerns Against Discrimination to promote equality on the island, working as an artist as part of exhibitions throughout University, both curating and creating for other exhibitions.

    Previously I have taken on supporting roles within a team for example when working as a Partner at Waitrose and as a labourer on building sites.

  15. What is the first thing (if any) you would like to change in the present practices or procedures (not the policies) of the States of Deliberation?
    I would like to see a focus on achieving change in a more timely manner, avoiding flip flop government.

  16. What do you regard as the prime attribute or special skill you have to serve the island as a deputy?
    I believe that I am a very open minded individual with the ability to consider all points of view before coming to a decision.

  17. Given that matters can rarely be decided unanimously, are you able to respect the majority decision of a team or committee of which you are a member after respectful and informed debate?
    Yes I am and my hope is that all Deputies in the new assembly will act as such.

  18. Any other comments you wish to add:
    n/a