Mark Dorey

Mark Dorey

  1. NAME OF CANDIDATE
    Mark Hirzel Dorey

  2. AGE
    61

  3. PARISH WHERE RESIDENT AT PRESENT
    Castel

  4. OCCUPATION
    Deputy

  5. EMAIL ADDRESS
    mark@dorey.me.uk

  6. MANIFESTO WEBSITE
    http://www.moveforward.gg

  7. Have you previously been a member of the States and, if so, between which dates?
    Yes from 2002 to 2020.

  8. Have you ever served on any States’ committees and, if so, which ones and when?
    Committee for Environment and Infrastructure – vice-president (2016-20)
    Education, Sport and Culture (2018-20)
    Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (2016-20)
    Castel, La Houguette and Grammar School Committees (2018-20)
    Minister of Social Security (2008-12)
    Minister of Health and Social Services (2012-14)
    Policy Council (2008-12 & 2012-14)
    Treasury and Resources Committee (2004-08 & 2012)
    States Assembly & Constitution Committee (2012 & 2016-18)
    Two scrutiny panels that reviewed the bond issue (2016-17) and capital allocations (2019-20)
    States Review Committee (2012-16)
    Public Services Department (2014-16)
    Strategic Land Planning Group (2008-12)
    Population Policy Group & Social Policy Group – sub groups of the Policy Council (2008-12)
    Housing Department – Deputy Minister (2004-08)
    Housing Authority (2002-04)
    Board of Industry (2003-04)

  9. Have you ever served as a parish constable, douzenier or procureur of the poor and, if so, between which dates and which parish?
    Castel Parish Procureur of the Poor (1989-90) Constable (1991-92) Douzenier (1994-2008) Castel Primary School Committee (1997-2011)

  10. What education, training, qualifications (whether professional or vocational) and experience do you have which would be advantageous in being one of the 38 Deputies representing the people of Guernsey?
    I have experience as a States member since 2002 including serving as a Minister. I am a Director of a residential property holding company which includes doing some work managing that property. Also, I have experience as the client representative on some significant redevelopment projects.

    I have an HND in Computer studies and I worked in the computer software industry for over 21 years including as a team leader managing a client service team for an international client.

  11. What is your present occupation and what other positions have you held in the past ten years either as employee or employer (in the case of present or former States’ members please include outside work done (if any) whilst serving as a member)?
    Current occupation is a States Member. In addition, I am a director of a family company that owns residential property in St Sampson and I do some work managing that property.

  12. Do you intend to carry on working besides fulfilling your duties as a States’ member if elected?
    I would continue with the property management detailed in the answer to question 4b above.

  13. Indicate how your qualifications and experience of life generally will bring value to the work of the States in the discharge of all its many functions, governmental, legislative and administrative. Indicate, if you wish, two particular committees where you feel you can make a contribution and which skills and attributes you have which would fit you for such roles.
    My knowledge, experience and understanding of States procedures and States finances means that I can make a significant contribution to any committee of which I am a member. I have an ability to work constructively with colleagues. I have a reputation for thoroughness.

  14. Give details of any team or project activity in which you have engaged within the last five years where you feel you have contributed to benefitting your employment or community: (a) in your work (b) in your voluntary charitable, sporting or social life.
    An example of team/project working is being the client representative working with an architect and building contractor on the redevelopment of property to provide good quality accommodation with high standards of insulation and low heating costs. I have also been the property secretary for Delisles Methodist Church for a number of years and have used my property knowledge to benefit the church. I have not included any work as a States Deputy in this answer.

  15. What is the first thing (if any) you would like to change in the present practices or procedures (not the policies) of the States of Deliberation?
    An alternative to the guillotine motion (which stops a debate) is to allow debate to continue but limit the length of speeches to say 3 minutes so members can still make their point but in a concise way.

  16. What do you regard as the prime attribute or special skill you have to serve the island as a deputy?
    I have knowledge and experience; I am hard-working and conscientious about researching issues and most of all I care passionately for my island.

  17. Given that matters can rarely be decided unanimously, are you able to respect the majority decision of a team or committee of which you are a member after respectful and informed debate?
    Yes, I am able to respect majority decisions and have done so on numerous occasions. In committee work it is normal to look for a compromise solution that can be unanimously supported.

  18. Any other comments you wish to add:
    N/A